Tag Archives: david heartbreak

The return of moombahton masters Heartbreak and Munchi

Since pairing up on the Munbreakton EP last June, Heartbreak and Munchi have both come a long way. The duo has been a guiding force in the development of moombahton, consistently pushing boundaries and even planting the flags on derivative genres. Seven months after their last collaboration – Fuck H & M – and they’re back for the crown.

Moombahsoul, the most promising 108 BPM subgenre, is well represented here. John Legend’s “Ordinary People” and Jay Z’s “Song Cry” become “The Legend” and “Me and My Bitch,” respectively. Add those two superstars to the list of artists (LL Cool J, The Fugees, Big Pun, DeBarge, etc.) that have been given the moombahton treatment, with stellar results.

Munchi’s “Learn” and Heartbreak’s “Jump Up & Twist” have sharper edges; on these tracks, the tropical bass movement comes full-circle as the dembow rhythm is applied to reggae, dancehall and bashment. The EP reaches the proverbial 11 on a pair of moombahcore tunes. Heartbreak, arguably the inventor of the dubstep-moombahton hybrid, picks up where “King Kong” left off on “Doomsday.” Munchi’s remix of “Warface” by dubstepper Jakes gives an even more martial feel to the Full Metal Jacket sampling original.

Munchi shouldered the blame for this release’s delay, but after the last couple of months, I think his friends and fans are just happy to see him return to form. In his own words: “This promo went from being Moombahsoul to Moombahcore to Moombashment to ‘You know what, fuck it lets just put this shit out.‘” Long live the kings of moombahton!

Download: Heartbreak and Munchi – H/M

Bonus: DJ Ayres released ten edits and blends that he whipped up for last week’s Moombahton Massive. In the spirit of free moombahton, grab the tracks from Soundcloud.

More Moombahma from David Heartbreak

David Heartbreak is at it again. Fresh off an appearance on the Summer of Moombahton compilation and his TGRI-exclusive Culipandeo mix, Heartbreak has released the Dos Moombahma EP, another collection of genre-expanding moombahton.

In a nod to the origins of the genre, Heartbreak twists Kid Kaio’s Dutch house “Hey” into a 108 BPM banger. The build and simple chant-along vocals make this one a club keeper.

Like he did on “Whistle Blower,” Heartbreak takes crunk 1,000 miles south on “Salt Shaker,” his edit of the the classic Ying Yang Twins party anthem. Elsewhere on the EP, he experiments with moombahcore (“Lend Ya Down”), a grimey offshoot of moombahton, and classic dancehall (“Raggamuffin”). For fans of chilled-out lounge sounds, “Novinah” is the perfect mood setter, based on a sample of Drake’s “Successful.”

David Heartbreak continues to be a producer to watch. The Charlotte DJ has a good ear for hooks and samples that fit the moombahton sound, and he continues to move the genre forward with his melting pot approach to the genre.

TGRIOnline x David Heartbreak present… Culipandeo: Volumen Dos

Moombahton keeps growing, with new sounds, new DJs, and even new countries of origin. So it was clear that Culipandeo, DJ A-Mac’s TGRI exclusive mixtape, needed a sequel. After covering the Munbreakton and Barack Moombahma EPs, we knew Charlotte’s David Heartbreak had to man the tables for the next one.

Throughout Culipandeo Volumen Dos, Heartbreak effortlessly blends his own productions with those of frequent collaborators Munchi and DJ Melo. Notably, the half hour mix is better suited for sipping tequila than slamming body shots, with its chilled out moombahton versions of “Hey Lover,” “Ready of Not,” and “Single.” Things get a little harder about halfway through, when the grimey bass of “Barbie Weed” before closing with Heartbreak and Munchi’s “Boneknuckles.”

More than anything, Culipandeo Volumen Dos leaves you wanting more, and Heartbreak promises just that. Later this month, he’ll be appearing on a moombahton compilation with moombahton masters Dave Nada, A-Mac, Munchi, and Melo, among others. Then comes a moombahton meets club music mix entitled Moombahmore, and another volume of Munbreakton. Apparently, when you’re part of the moombahton revolution, there’s no rest for the weary.

Tracklist for Culipandeo Volumen Dos:

1. David Heartbreak- Sweet Tea
2. Heartbreak & Munchi- Aponte o Nao
3. DJ Melo- Sientelo (Moombahton edit)
4. David Heartbreak- Moombahma
5. Munchi- Soltero y Sin Compromiso
6. Sam Tiba – Barbie Weed (Yeah! edit)
7. DJ Melo- Told ya (Moombahton edit)
8. Munchi- Toma Bermibau (Original mix)
9. Heartbreak & Munchi- Boneknuckles

Tropical heat from Munchi and Heartbreak

It’s a Moombahton Monday, which means two things: Dave Nada’s summer weekly is ready to go off, and TGRIOnline has new tropical tunes for you.

Since teaming up for the Munbreakton EP, we’ve been eagerly awaiting new songs from Munchi and David Heartbreak. Their collaborative material combined the best of the US and the Netherlands, with a syrupy Dutch house take on some American R&B and hip-hop classics.

First up is a very DC-friendly concept from Heartbreak, the Barack Moombahma EP. “The Moombahma” is a very chilled-out, house-influenced form of moombahton; like much of the Munbreakton EP, it builds on classic samples (“Gypsy Woman” by Crystal Waters) and forgoes some of the more abrasive sound elements of the genre. “Whistle Blower” is a more of a party starter, with its sample of Juelz Santana’s “The Whistle Song.” The rest of the EP is not to be missed, from the vocoder and sirens of “Quires Culiar” to the appropriately-titled “Banger.”

If Dave Nada is the maestro of moombahton, Toy Selectah is the cumbia commander – but clearly, they’re not alone in their mastery of tropical stylings. Munchi tries his hand at the Colombian style on Cumbia XXX, where the beats are as dirty as the subject matter. Munchi’s barebones tracks combine cumbia, baile funk, moombahton, and even a little Bmore club. To keep it grimey, Munchi sampled everything from Nokia ringtones to Brazilian porn. And if that’s not enough reason to download, check out the entirely NSWF cover.

Turn up and get down with the Munbreakton EP

Yes, TGRIOnline is now dropping moombahton daily. And why not? We’re just past the Summer Solstice and the time is right for the tropical tuneage.

Moombahton started as Dutch house, and now it’s going back home with Rotterdam’s Munchi (remember him?). Munchi and Charlotte’s DJ David Heartbreak have released the “Munbreakton EP,” six tracks that keep pushing the nascent genre forward.

Heartbreak and Munchi are at their best when crate-digging R&B and hip-hop and reworking it into smooth moombahton jams. “Sweet Tea” (named for the only thing the producers drank in the studio) adds a bit of baile funk to the instantly-recognizable melody and moans combo from LL’s “Doin’ It” for a bubbling hit. “Aponte o não,” pulling both from the Fugee’s classic “Ready or Not” and the Course remix of the same song, features a chill vibe perfect for whatever you’re sipping. And “Soltero y sin compromiso” is an ambient, swirling take on Lil Wayne’s “Single.”

Sonically, Munchi and Heartbreak bring new elements to the table. The synth in songs like “Pilulas Azuis e Brancos” (“Blue and white pills”) and “Boneknuckles” is raw, heavy, and unforgiving: siren calls to the dancefloor. Munchi utilizes the percussion of merengue and mambo in “Pero Que lo Que Mujer,” a no-brainer move that’s a perfect fit with moombahton.

The “Munbreakton EP” is the kind of release that keeps the developing moombahton sound exciting. “In my opinion, the possibilities with moombahton seem endless,” says Munchi. We have to agree.